Where Literary Legends Are Born

Happy Book Birthday to Teach Me To Forget by Erica M. Chapman!

Erica M. Chapman’s debut YA Teach Me To Forget published today to some great reviews and nice buzz! It’s on the Best YA Books of December list from Bustle, Barnes & Noble’s Most Anticipated December YA books, The Children’s Book Review Best New Young Adult Books of December 2016 and was named one of Goodreads’ Best YA Books of December!
Teach Me to Forget is the story of Ellery, a girl who learns how to live while waiting for the date she chose to die.

Ellery’s bought the gun, made arrangements for her funeral, and even picked the day. A Wednesday. Everything has fallen into place.

Now all she has to do is die.

When her plans go awry and the gun she was going to kill herself with breaks, she does the one thing she has control over–return it and get a new one. After tormenting the crusty customer service associate by trying to return the gun with the wrong receipt, Ellery gets caught by the security guard who also happens to be someone she knows–the annoyingly perfect Colter Sawyer from her English class.

Colter quickly uncovers what she’s hiding and is determined to change her mind. After confessing a closely held secret of his own, he promises not to tell hers. Ellery tries to fight her attraction to him as the shadows of her past cling tight around her, but when she’s faced with another tragedy, she must decide whether her love for one boy is more important than a lifetime of pain.


“In this stunningly brave and necessary debut, Erica M. Chapman takes us on a journey to the edge and back—exploring grief, depression, and suicide with candor, insight, and above all, hope.”

– Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

“A beautifully crafted, dark, and heartbreaking look at depression and suicide. Ellery’s story is needed and necessary; Chapman is a writer to watch.”

– Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

“Ellery’s voice is engaging and authentic, and her edgy black humor comes into play…. Sadness gives way to redemption and an unforced hope in this thoughtful read.”

Kirkus Reviews

Chapman has crafted a hauntingly beautiful story with richly developed characters. A moving tale to recommend, especially to readers who loved Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places.”

—School Library Journal

“Chapman has brilliantly written from a perspective of authenticity that produces a genuinely wrenching story. Ellery is heartbreakingly realistic, and readers will find themselves lost in her turmoil. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Jennifer Brown will clamor for this debut novel from an author whose dark and emotional story will resonate with teen readers.”—VOYA Magazine

You can buy Teach Me To Forget from these retailers: Indie BoundBarnes & Noble, Amazon and Adams Media Bookstore.

Also available in audio from Audible!

You visit Erica’s website and follow her on Twitter @ericamchapman!