Where Literary Legends Are Born

University Presses

McIntosh & Otis is proud to represent the subsidiary rights for LSU Press. LSU publishes a broad range of fiction and nonfiction titles, including, poetry, educational and academic texts, and compelling fiction and narrative nonfiction. Over the course of their history LSU has won prestigious awards including the Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Award, the Booker Prize, and the Bancroft Prize. We handle film, foreign and translation, book club, audio, large print, and more for our clients. For more information on LSU, please visit their website below. Domestic permissions requests should be directed to the individual press.

LSU Press

Founded in 1935, the LSU Press is a nonprofit book publisher dedicated to the publication of scholarly, general interest, and regional books. Over the decades, LSU Press has grown steadily and currently publishes approximately eighty new books each year as well as a backlist of some 1,000 titles. Noted internationally for its books, the Press’s primary areas of focus include southern history, biography, and literature; the Civil War and World War II; poetry; political philosophy and political communications; music studies, particularly jazz; geography and environmental studies; and illustrated books about the Gulf South region. The Press is perhaps most widely recognized as the original publisher of John Kennedy Toole’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel A CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES. In the mid-nineties it launched the acclaimed paperback fiction reprint series Voices of the South and in 2005, after a hiatus of about a decade, resumed publishing original fiction under the new series Yellow Shoe Fiction, edited by Michael Griffith.

LSU Press is the only university press to have won a Pulitzer Prize in both fiction and poetry (most recently in 2006 for LATE WIFE by Claudia Emerson). Through the years, its books have earned many prestigious honors, including a total of three Pulitzer Prizes, the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Booker Prize, the American Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the Bancroft Prize, the Lincoln Prize, the Lamont Poetry Selection by the Academy of American Poets, and numerous others.